Anoint Me Lord

On Sunday my wife Debbie sang a beautiful Vicki Yohe song entitled “Anoint Me Lord”. If you’ve never heard this song before, I highly recommend giving it a listen.

The message this song conveys is one of asking the Lord to equip us for His service. So often if we aren’t careful, the life we live as Christians can easily become one where it’s more about us than Him. How easily it can turn into being about us being served, rather than us serving Him.

I think about how our vision becomes blurred at times, clouded by the cares and responsibilities of this life. Before we know it, it’s happened to each of us and we are no longer able to focus on the really important things.

That is when God has to pull us back and remind us that when he saved us, He had a greater purpose in store for us than to sit by and watch others struggle along their way.

You see, you weren’t called of God to become just another member of the “frozen chosen” club, but to be Salt and Light in the lives of others.

““You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men. “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lamp stand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:13-16

May we all fully realize that God has called us to win others, and to shine our lights upon a world groping in gross darkness, that the people might see that there is a great Light in the midst of such darkness.

Anoint Me Lord by Vicki Yohe

Here I am again Lord, Asking for more
Fill me up completely, With the anointing oil
Not only my head, But every part of me
I’m yielded and humbly thine, A servant to thee

Anoint me Lord this day, As I go along my way
Let my life send forth a glow, Let the oil around me flow
Anoint me Lord, This day I pray
Amen

Broken hearts and lives, Can be mended anew
Just with one touch, Dear Lord from you
Let the oil and the wine, Bring healing divine
To every wounded soul, Let it overflow

 

3 thoughts on “Anoint Me Lord

I’d like to hear your thoughts.