We hear a lot of talk today about shaming. Whether it’s body shaming, food shaming,gender shaming or whatever else comes to mind, it’s all a form of ridicule. Taken to the extreme,which is of course how we think in our society today, any type of criticism or critique can be labeled as shaming.

I have found another type of shaming however that garners very little attention,if any, in the media. It’s called Spiritual Shaming. It happens when a Christian chooses to be led by God’s Word rather than the prevailing opinions of the age.

A Christian today is labeled insensitive, intolerant, a bigot, unloving, uncaring, and on and on it goes. Interestingly enough, all of these labels can more easily be attributed to the very ones using them than to Christians. But I digress.

As I said, no one seems to want to mention this type of shaming, do they?

Ridicule can be a very effective tool in Satan’s toolbox. It is used to damage, hinder,or even destroy ones Christian testimony. It is certainly not a new phenomenon, in fact here is an example from nearly two thousand years ago:

“Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony of our Lord, nor of me His prisoner, but share with me in the sufferings for the gospel according to the power of God, who has saved us and called us with a holy calling, not according to our works, but according to His own purpose and grace which was given to us in Christ Jesus before time began, but has now been revealed by the appearing of our Savior Jesus Christ, who has abolished death and brought life and immortality to light through the gospel, to which I was appointed a preacher, an apostle, and a teacher of the Gentiles. For this reason I also suffer these things; nevertheless I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him until that Day.”    ‭‭II Timothy‬ ‭1:8-12‬ ‭NKJV‬‬.  emphasis mine

One can only wonder how much of the New Testament would not have been written had Paul been as thin skinned as many of us appear to be today. Ridiculed, or shamed continuously, he marched on, confident that his Lord would see him through every situation. He remained unashamed.

Where is that mindset among believers today?

I know that some Christians become offended at the Word of God. It convicts us of our sinful life styles and reveals the dark places of our hearts, and we don’t like that one bit. The Word demands that we do something about US!

That’s right, the Word will never deflect our own shortcomings elsewhere, it demands that we own them and do something about them!

It doesn’t change with every new fad, nor does it change with popular opinion. It remains unchanged,true, and steadfast. It doesn’t even ask if we like it! It does however require us to conform to it, not the other way around.

Ashamed of the Gospel? There was a time when I was new in the faith, and the case could be made that I was indeed ashamed of the Gospel. I didn’t like the shaming, the ridicule that came with my new faith,because it hurt. My lack of spiritual maturity caused me to take it personally.

That was a long time ago, and my once new faith has matured to the point that I now fully understand that it’s not about me, it’s all about Him. Shaming, ridicule, all of that is actually directed at the Christ in me, not me personally.

Because of that truth, I have nothing to be ashamed of.

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes, for the Jew first and also for the Greek.”   Romans 1:16

Have a great day!

Ron

 

 

