At the end of the day today, there will have been approximately five million blog posts published (source). That is a staggering number, one that changes constantly as new people begin blogging and others drop off.

No matter how you slice it, that’s a lot of information being put out there for the world to absorb. Come to think of it, that’s an amazing amount of work being generated to produce such an enormous volume of information. Wow!

From my perspective as a Christian blogger I am constantly evaluating input vs. output. That, unfortunately, is a trait I lived every day for several years in my former occupation. It’s now part of my DNA, I think.

Constantly evaluating data, extrapolating that same data far into the future in order to make an honest effort at predicting said future, then evaluating what worked and what didn’t work in order to justify the next project. That is how my brain is wired, unfortunately.

The reason I’m telling you this is because I have come to realize that evaluating this blog using the world’s methodology is an effort in futility. It doesn’t work, and here’s why.

In the business world every investment centers around something called payback. How long will it take before the investment pays off and profits are generated is the overriding factor of nearly all business plan investment ideas. The amount of work and resources needed to turn a profit must be balanced in turn by sufficient profits. That’s business 101.

A Christian blog however isn’t about profit and loss. For sure, there are an enormous amount of resources required to do this blogging thing. The biggest resource requirement of course is time. Lots and lots of time. But again, profits are not the goal of a Christian blog.

My goal is to reach a person who is hurting and offer them a word of encouragement, all while doing my very best to be obedient to the call of God upon my life. Like all of you, I wish I could say I’ve been 100% successful at it, but of course I can’t. Still, that is my goal each time I post something.

Taking a look at blog stats can be very discouraging; especially considering the input vs. output (there I go again). All of which brings me to this:

Who’s Blog is This Anyway, and Why Do I Do This?

If this was all about God, would I ever look at a stat counter? What would it matter if only one person read it or if ten thousand did? The truth is it only matters to me, it doesn’t matter to God. It matters to me because I want to be in control. P.R.I.D.E.

I want to control the input and the output. To be sure, I want to say what God wants me to say, but I want to control the way it’s said, because, well, I want control. You know what happens when I’m in control instead of God?

NOTHING

That’s right. NOTHING. Hearts aren’t touched, lives aren’t changed, no one is encouraged. Zero ministry happens when I maintain control of something that is supposed to be used for His glory.

Jesus had twelve disciples. Twelve. Not twelve thousand or twelve million. Twelve. Do you think these twelve carried around in their pocket a stat counter? Did one of the twelve keep attendance at their house meetings? Did one of them ever mention anything about input vs. output?

Nope, Nope, and Nope.

What they did do was die to self so that His will would be done, not theirs. What they did do was forsake everything for the cause of Christ. They decreased in order for Him to increase .Last time I checked, their efforts were still paying dividends as sinners continue to come to the Cross.

I no longer want to be in control of this blog. It’s not working and I’m tired of doing something that’s not working. Remember Einstein’s definition of insanity? That’s me. I don’t want to play this game any longer.

The next post from me might be in a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Rest assured that whenever it is, it will be Christ in control, at the head, as it should be. And it will be different!

I’ll be the one hiding in the background, not worrying about inputs and outputs.

Till then……

Ron

 

