I thought I would take a break from my usual type of posts and share a few light hearted thoughts on different topics making the news lately. Being newly retired,I have a lot of free time on my hands! So here goes…

The Presidential Election: how strange that we now have a president that his own party refuses to fully support. I wonder,how will this administration unite an obviously divided nation when the presidents party itself is so deeply divided? And what about all those elected officials who refused to attend the inauguration? Way to be the example on how to start the process of unification guys and gals. Talk about speaking out of both sides….

Gun Violence: I support the Second Ammendment that gives us the right to keep and bear arms. I do not however,support stupid. Some people,obviously,have no business owning a firearm. Can someone tell me what is so hard to understand about this? Which leads me to…

Gang Violence: Who is running the asylum here anyway? Who is in control of our cities? I know who is supposed to be in control,but all the evidence points to the bad guys being in charge. Hello governments of all levels: more of my tax dollars is not the answer.

Celebrities: Am I the only one who is wondering why people who seem to have so little control over their own lives expect us to take them seriously? Really? Many of these people live in a bubble and are completely out of touch with reality. Consider the recent statements by the “material girl” who apparently wants to blow up the White House as a prime example of the lunacy of these people. Or maybe I am the one out of touch with reality. After all she has millions of “adoring” fans. Me? Outside of my family,not so much. I am approaching 100 WordPress followers however. 🙂

TV Weather Personalities: Ok,so it’s really great that we have such awesome weather technology available to us.But when did we get so soft that a prediction of an inch or two of snow sends us into full on panic mode and we rush to the grocery for bread and milk? It seems like the TV weather personalities might be secret stockholders in their local grocery stores. Ya Think? At any rate,I really get annoyed at the way they act like we don’t have the sense to come in out of the rain.

Minimum Wage: Of course you can’t support a family making the minimum wage. Hello? News Flash!! The minimum wage was NEVER intended to be more than a temporary wage! Protests in the streets won’t change that.What is it that people don’t understand about that? And the $15.00 per hour wage that we keep hearing about? Do people not grasp the fact that companies exist for the purpose of making a profit? Now,I don’t know if paying McDonalds employees $15.00 per hour will raise the price of a quarter pounder to $8 or $10 or whatever,but what I do know is that a lot less of them will be sold at those prices. See the domino effect here? And yes, I actually do understand that this is a very complex issue. In no way am I trivializing the plight of the poor.

Political Correctness: This is a gem. Let’s see,there can be no right or wrong lest one party is offended. And no losers lest someone’s self esteem is tarnished. Oh,and every kid gets to bat because we all know that they will hate their parents,trash the school,and become a social recluse unless they get to bat. How about instead we urge little Johnny to try harder,to actually practice hitting the ball instead of using his thumbs to conquer far off galaxies in a video game? Harsh? Don’t hate.

Millennials: Ah yes,the hapless generation who want to change the world,but allow me to pay for it. Do me a favor will you millennials? When you’ve paid for a couple hundred roads and bridges,approved a few tax levies to fund the local school system,financed a war or two,come see me. Until then,you got nuthin’.Did he really just say that? Ouch.

Sports: I saw where Atlanta is building a 1.5 BILLION dollar stadium just for football. How nice. Hmmm…last time I checked Atlanta had some pretty serious issues of a social nature going on. You know, things like poverty,horrible education system, unemployment,shootings. Hello Atlanta! Ever hear of something called priorities?

OK,I’m pretty sure I’ve offended enough people for one day so I’m out!

BTW….this is all said tongue in cheek.

Mostly.

 

 

