This morning I wanted to share a beautiful Psalm of David with you.

I love David. I love everything about him. I love that he has a heart that longs for God. I love that no matter how far down he gets,he always remembers where his strength comes from. And yes,I love his humanity. His failures remind me that stumble though I may,there is a Faithful God that forgives and does all He can to restore that which the enemy has stolen from me.

1 A Psalm of David. Hear my prayer, O Lord, Give ear to my supplications! In Your faithfulness answer me, And in Your righteousness. 2 Do not enter into judgment with Your servant, For in Your sight no one living is righteous. 3 For the enemy has persecuted my soul; He has crushed my life to the ground; He has made me dwell in darkness, Like those who have long been dead. 4 Therefore my spirit is overwhelmed within me; My heart within me is distressed. 5 I remember the days of old; I meditate on all Your works; I muse on the work of Your hands. 6 I spread out my hands to You; My soul longs for You like a thirsty land. Selah 7 Answer me speedily, O Lord; My spirit fails! Do not hide Your face from me, Lest I be like those who go down into the pit. 8 Cause me to hear Your lovingkindness in the morning, For in You do I trust; Cause me to know the way in which I should walk, For I lift up my soul to You. 9 Deliver me, O Lord, from my enemies; In You I take shelter. 10 Teach me to do Your will, For You are my God; Your Spirit is good. Lead me in the land of uprightness. 11 Revive me, O Lord, for Your name’s sake! For Your righteousness’ sake bring my soul out of trouble. 12 In Your mercy cut off my enemies, And destroy all those who afflict my soul; For I am Your servant.   Psalm 143.  NKJV

Psalm 143 offers us a glimpse into the depths of despair that David had reached and the painful words uttered here reveal the magnitude of the situation he finds himself in. If we look closely into the anguish of David,I believe we will see a familiar pattern of spiritual warfare not at all unlike what you and I contend with.

He states that he has been persecuted by the enemy. How many can identify with David in this regard? Persecution of the soul is a wearisome thing,is it not? It exhausts you to the point of leaving you feel as though your life has been thrown to the ground,feeling as if you are nothing more than a door mat.

Ever felt like a door mat? That’s how David felt.

It leaves you feeling as if you are in darkness,almost as if you were the living dead. Deep despair will do that to us. That feeling of hopelessness and utter despair drives us to the point of not really living,but simply going through the motions of life. Eating,sleeping,doing….but not really living.

David declares to the Lord that his spirit was overwhelmed within him. Overwhelmed is not good,is it? The sense of being overwhelmed can be debilitating,paralyzing,and all consuming. One thing I’ve learned is that overwhelmed people tend to make poor choices. I’ve made enough of them to know. Being overwhelmed prompts us to do something,anything,to alleviate the anxiety of the moment and this leads to us making bad decisions.

Sound familiar?

Finally David says that his heart is distressed. This spells trouble. This is the final step of the process,the pattern is revealed. David said he was persecuted,his life was crushed down to the ground,he dwelt in darkness like those who were no longer living,his spirit was overwhelmed,and finally his heart is distressed.

It always comes back to this doesn’t it? This issue of the heart. The feelings that David were experiencing were all tied into his heart. Just as ours are. We cannot escape our own humanity,our frail condition leaves us vulnerable to negative attacks on our heart from the enemy. Our being is rooted in the one place most susceptible to outside influences: the heart

As Christians we all go through times when we could have penned this particular Psalm. None of us are immune or exempt from the same emotional roller coaster that David was on. None of us. I like to remind people that if you think your life is perfect,free from pain and distress,a veritable box of chocolates,then you need to do a little self examination in light of God’s word. You may be surprised at what you find. Or what you find is missing.

So what do we do when we find ourselves feeling like David? Well, I think he said it best here:

5 I remember the days of old; I meditate on all Your works; I muse on the work of Your hands. 6 I spread out my hands to You; My soul longs for You like a thirsty land. Selah.

Turn your heart to the Lord!

Be blessed everyone!

Ron

