Oftentimes we are plagued with various thoughts that lead to discouragement.Thoughts that if left unchecked can also cause us to question God’s faithfulness.Or cause us to wonder if there really is Someone out there that cares for us.

Did you know that one of the greatest heroes of the Bible was a man often consumed with nagging doubts and insecurities?That he was better acquainted with the agony of defeat than the thrill of victory?

The Psalmist of Israel,King David, knew his share of battlefield victories and defeats.Starting as a young man slinging a stone at a Philistine giant, David became a man of war the moment Goliath fell to the ground.From that day forward,whether leading a victorious charge as Israel’s commanding general or losing the battle of his life on a very different type of battlefield,David knew only too well the ups and downs of warfare.

All of us,in looking over our own battlefields,see both victory and defeat,as well as the high costs associated with them.None of us can stake a claim as remaining unscathed in battle,for we have been wounded and beaten,battered and bruised,and if we’re being totally honest;left for dead.Many times.

Just as David suffered bouts of depression and insecurity,so do you and I.It’s in our DNA.And it’s called being human. And every last one of us suffers from it.

But thanks be unto God,the story doesn’t end there!

This morning I was reading a Psalm of David that deals with this subject matter. In this Psalm,138,David acknowledges God’s unfailing love and faithfulness.Do you ever need to hear that God’s love is unfailing,or that He alone is faithful? I know I do. Every day.

This Psalm is beautiful in it’s simplicity and tenderness as David reminds us that the Lord cares for the humble and truly does hear us when we pray.Yes,we may be tempted to believe that God doesn’t care,but the humble are close to His heart.

Finally,David says what all of us need to be reminded of from time to time, that the Lord will work out his plans for our lives.Beloved,God is faithful.

When the world is spinning out of control and evil seems to have the upper hand,be strong and know that God Almighty is working out his plan for your life.Please read that again.The God of heaven has a plan for you and He is even now working it out.

Yes,we may question that from time to time.We may lose a battle now and then(but never the war!). Insecurities? Got ’em. Scars from the battle? Plenty and then some. Surrounded by troubles? On every side.

None of that matters though,because the promises of God are backed by the honor of His name.And if that were not enough for you…He will never abandon you because HE MADE YOU! You are His and belong to Him!

Psalm 138

1 I give you thanks, O  lord, with all my heart;
I will sing your praises before the gods.
2 I bow before your holy Temple as I worship.
I praise your name for your unfailing love and faithfulness;
for your promises are backed
by all the honor of your name.
3 As soon as I pray, you answer me;
you encourage me by giving me strength.
4 Every king in all the earth will thank you, lord,
for all of them will hear your words.
5 Yes, they will sing about the lord’s ways,
for the glory of the lord is very great.
6 Though the lord is great, he cares for the humble,
but he keeps his distance from the proud.
7 Though I am surrounded by troubles,
you will protect me from the anger of my enemies.
You reach out your hand,
and the power of your right hand saves me.
8 The lord will work out his plans for my life—
for your faithful love, O  lord, endures forever.
Don’t abandon me, for you made me.
