I know what you’re thinking; well that’s a really dumb question.God can handle anything.He’s God after all!And everybody knows that God is still God,right?

Well…not everyone knows that.Or believes that.

I’ve been thinking about this for some time,and several recent conversations and “chance”meetings with individuals has urged me to write about it.

What do you tell someone who is standing on the edge of the abyss who doesn’t know that God can handle it?What do you tell someone who looks at you with “that look”in their eyes,that pleading,longing look that is more desperation than anything else?

They’re out there,those people who have no idea where to turn next.And they’re hurting in ways that most of us cannot comprehend.

Frightened.Hurt.Disillusioned.Wondering.Most of all wondering why.Why is this happening? What do I do now?

Most of us,when confronted by life’s challenges will fall back on the scriptures,and rightfully so for therein lies much of our strength and encouragement.Or we will turn to a Christian friend or leader for comfort.

For centuries Christians have garnered hope and strength from scriptures such as these:

For who is God, save the LORD? and who is a rock, save our God?   2Sa 22:32 KJV

For this God is our God for ever and ever: he will be our guide even unto death.   Psa 48:14 KJV

For our God is a consuming fire.   Heb 12:29 KJV

All great words to live by.But what about these folks that don’t have scriptures,or words of hope to sustain them?No preacher or minister to turn to?

Connie;who just today stopped by my desk to say goodby.You see,today is Connie’s last day after 30 years of service.I used to be her supervisor,and we shared several laughs and memories from years gone by.She got quiet as she prepared to leave and told me that she was hoping that things would work out alright.I thought that was a strange thing to say on this occasion and just as I was about to inquire she told me that her husband had not been able to work in over four years.Depression,she said.She told me that she had hope that everything would work out,so I asked her what the source of her hope was.”Nothing really”,came her response.She proceeded to explain that “you gotta have hope or else nothing will work out”. Connie is hoping in hope.Doesn’t believe in God.Believe me,I know.

Or Nathan;who just last week answered the call at his post as a local volunteer fire chief only to get there too late to save the two young girls,sisters,trapped inside.Nathan isn’t Nathan at the moment,he’s still in shock at witnessing what no one should ever see.His friends are very concerned about him because the life of the party is mostly silent.Nathan isn’t much of a believer either.Like the majority of the world,Nathan believes his good deeds will ensure his spot in heaven.

Today my office phone rang with a call from Mike,who told me his dad has cancer.Mike is usually somewhat scatter brained on his best day,but today was different.There was fear in Mike’s voice,fear of losing his dad.Mike and his dad have a very special relationship,a relationship forged out of some difficult days from years past.Mike is “religious”. He goes to church on Christmas and Easter to appease his elderly mother.Every once in awhile in a half joking manner he’ll say something religious like “I’ll say a prayer for you”. The rest of the time Mike cusses like a sailor.Actually, I think he could teach sailors to cuss.

Finally,I would be remiss if I failed to mention the text I received today from Gene.Gene is hurting terribly right now because he’s having to do what he’s tried to avoid doing for many years.Gene is having to place his mom in a nursing home.Did I mention that Gene is a Mamma’s boy? He’s taken care of his mom for many years since his dad passed away,and in fact he once told me he’d do just about anything to keep her out of the nursing home.Thankfully,Gene is a believer,and so is his mom.

There are others that I have encountered today,but it is enough.

So what do you tell someone who is standing on the edge of the abyss,who doesn’t know that God can handle it? What do you tell someone who looks at you with “that look”in their eyes,that pleading,longing look that is more desperation than anything else?

You tell them God’s got this.

Because He can handle it.

Be blessed,

Ron

