Funny how time changes our perspective,isn’t it?

Like many of you, I can remember when I thought that Christmas was all about what was under the tree. Not being raised in a

christmas-tree-pics-0101

turnbacktogod.com

home that was particularly religious…OK let me restate that. Being raised in a home where the only time God and Jesus were mentioned was in a curse,it never occurred to me that there was another “reason for the season”.

Oh sure, I participated in the obligatory school plays,sang Silent Night and Up On The Housetop,and somewhere I had heard about a babe in a manger and all of that,but I just figured that was all part of it.

My mothers family being Italian meant I was exposed to Aunts and Uncles who were Catholic,but there was no mention of that in our own home.My dad would have none of it.When I would visit their homes I would see the Crucifix and other religious items but none of it made any sense to me.I mean,why have a Bible written in Latin when you can’t even read it!

Things went from bad to worse when I was twelve years old when right before Christmas my father died.That first Christmas was one of grief and misery that I could not wait to be over.If I’m being honest,the next several weren’t so hot either.

Through the years I went through the motions,the motions of the rest of the world that focused only on what was under that tree.Some years I got what I had asked for,some years I did not and that was OK.After all,it’s all just part of the deal right?

Everything changed for me when as a young man of 20 I was introduced to Jesus. Wow,that was a long time ago!As I developed in this new faith I learned so much about what Christmas is really all about.I learned that there really was a babe in a manger,there really were wise men,and most of all that there really was a God in charge of it all.

In the church I listened to many debates and arguments from the religious crowd about whether or not Jesus actually did arrive on December 25th,only to figure out that the date didn’t matter at all! What mattered most was that He had come! Wouldn’t make a bit of difference to me if we celebrated Christmas in July!

Sometimes it seems to me that the church should be the biggest fan of Christmas,and I don’t mean just on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.Don’t we who have met this promised King have the most to be thankful for? Then why don’t we act like it the other 364 days of the year?

For Christians,shouldn’t every day be a celebration of Christmas?

Yes,my perspective has done a 180 since I was a boy.Oh,don’t get me wrong.I still love to be surprised on Christmas morning just like I did so long ago.I mean,who doesn’t like a new fishing lure once in a while(hint hint)?

Even though it isn’t fashionable and certainly not popular these days,I realize that Christmas is all about honoring the King that arrived on the scene over 2000 years ago.Presents are optional,of course.

But what isn’t optional,at least for me and my family,is that we recognize the Gift that was so graciously given to each of us,unworthy though we were.

infant Jesus

pinterest.com

This Christmas,with it’s rushing,stress, and hurry of the season my prayer is that you will take a few moments to reflect upon your own unique perspective.

How far have you come in your journey to comprehend the Wonder of Wonders?

How have you changed,or more importantly…how has He changed you?

Be blessed this Christmas season!

Ron

 

