For I [am] the LORD, I change not; therefore ye sons of Jacob are not consumed.

Even from the days of your fathers ye are gone away from mine ordinances, and have not kept [them]. Return unto me, and I will return unto you, saith the LORD of hosts. But ye said, Wherein shall we return?  Mal 3:6-7 KJV

So said the God of heaven to his people. God was “calling out” the nation of Israel because of their deliberate choice to forsake the commands of their God and instead choose their own path of living.

For hundreds of years after the Exodus from Egyptian bondage God never stopped calling his people to repentance.He never stopped revealing himself to them in wondrous ways.In short,he never stopped loving them.

Here is where God reveals himself to have the heart of a father,a father who longs for the return of the prodigal.He continues to look for the lost one that has wandered.He is ever ready to bind up the wounded and broken who will humble themselves and return unto him.

All of these precious words were directed to the people of Israel centuries ago,long before there ever was a Christian.

How faithful is God? The words of verse 6 state it better than I could ever hope to. Because God does not change,he does not turn away from his people,nor does he consume them.Even when his people have turned their backs on him.

Imagine if God were a man,or subject to the nature of man,one who changed his opinion based upon the latest social media poll.Imagine the chaos that would exist if God was double minded,or went back and forth unable to take a stand.

Do we truly believe that God never thought to himself that it would be easier to just consume his people and then start over? We know he thought so because we read about it in his dealings with Moses in the wilderness.

Yet God said He does not change,therefore the sons of Jacob were not consumed.

We need to study this and let it sink into our spirits. Even though the people of God deliberately turned their backs on him,still he did not abandon them.Could he have,should he have,would he have been justified to do so?

What do you think?

There is something so special about these two verses of scripture for they reveal to the Christian the very nature of God.

God is saying that “no matter how much you hurt me,I will not abandon you. No matter how far you run from me I will seek you out.You cannot do enough to cause me to reject you.

Because I love you,because I am married to you,because I am to you as a groom is to his bride,you are mine”.

And what about you,dear Christian brother or sister?

Do you listen to his voice?

Read his word?

Seek him in prayer?

Worship him with your whole heart?

If this describes you I stand with you and declare the goodness of God.

Or is God your enemy?

Do you treat him as a stranger?

Do you know to do right but do it not?

Did you once have an intimate relationship with him,but now it seems as though that never happened?

Have you,like the people of Israel decided that you know best how your life should be lived so you have in essence created your own “religion”?

Do you have your own set of principles or guidelines?

In your world does everyone eventually get to heaven?

Have you made a deliberate choice not to follow the Lord,but to guide yourself?

If this is you,you must know that there is coming a day when we shall all give account for our actions.And please understand that I do not mean to come across as harsh or mean spirited,but the reality is that our ways are not his ways.God does not bow to us,in spite of our haughty attitudes at times.He tells us two separate times in the scriptures that the day will come when all of us will bow the knee to him.

I have sworn by myself, the word is gone out of my mouth [in] righteousness, and shall not return, That unto me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall swear.    Isa 45:23 KJV
For it is written, [As] I live, saith the Lord, every knee shall bow to me, and every tongue shall confess to God.    Rom 14:11 KJV

God is pleading with this world to return unto him,and he will return unto them.

He doesn’t change.Ever.

And so He waits………for those he loves to return unto him.

