Hope…

Where would we be without it?

Who among us can live without Hope?

  • Hope for a better job
  • Hope for a better marriage
  • Hope for better health

Indeed, Hope for a better life.

There is something within all of us that compels us to long for something better. And it’s not always a desire to get more of this or that,but a longing for contentment,a desire to know that in spite of it all,everything’s going to be OK.

Hope is defined in many different ways,and I’m certain you have your own ideas about Hope.

From Dictionary.com here are three examples of Hope:

  • to look forward to with desire and reasonable confidence.
  • to believe, desire, or trust
  • to feel that something desired may happen

As a Christian I have Hope because I look forward to a world as yet unseen or unknown to me. A Hope that one day I will step into an eternity where God Himself dwells among us. And yes,I know that it is going to happen.

Because Jesus said it would happen.

1“Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. 

2 In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. 

3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.           John 14:1-3 NKJV 
Jesus is inviting all who have ears to hear, cast all of your cares upon Me so that your hearts will not be troubled. You see,Jesus is a Friend that sticks closer than a brother or sister,and If we are troubled in mind and heart we can turn to Him and know that He will see us through somehow. It’s His great desire to carry us through the storms of life,and not that we try to go it all alone.

He has gone on to prepare a place for you and I, a place where we will dwell eternally in the security of knowing that we will never be separated from His love and care. There is room for all in His house…what a promise!

That’s the Hope I have. That if He went to prepare a place for me,He is going to come one day and take me to that place.

This is the The Blessed Hope. Not some made up doctrine of cleverly devised escapism fantasy, but a Hope that He will do what He said he would do.

What surer Hope could we have than the Hope that comes from the Lord?

Be blessed,

Ron

