Last night just before going to bed I asked my wife this question: “when will the Lord lead us out of this valley”?

Now,before I tell you what her answer was you need to know a bit about my wife.The daughter of a Pentecostal pastor who was raised to believe that God would always supply our needs,she is my constant companion and most ardent supporter and encourager. She does her very best to live out the words of Jesus and she is far and away the most “real” Christian I have ever met.

Her steadfast faith in God’s word and her dedication to holding fast to the hands of Jesus rather than man makes many people uncomfortable.She is a truth seeker who cannot tolerate anyone who is comfortable telling lies.Fact is,she can spot em’ a mile away!

She is a holdout from a lost generation of believers who actually believed that God was GOD and it didn’t matter what anyone else said about it. So,what was her response to my question?She thought for just a moment and said this:”there are two roads out of this:

  1. When we have learned enough,or
  2. We we have had enough”.

I must be honest and say that I was dumbstruck by her response because it was 100% correct.It was as if God was telling me “Ron,you still have lessons to learn here in the place where I’ve placed you and you aren’t getting out until I’ve taught you the things that you will need for the journey ahead”.

Either that,or we have grown so accustomed to the valley that we no longer desire the sunshine and fresh air of the mountain top. Maybe we’ve become so comfortable in our surroundings that we no longer feel the urge to move out and claim the land for God.Until we get to the place where we’ve had enough of despair and lack, we’re likely to stay in it.

Discouragement will do that to us won’t it? It clouds our vision and dims our perspective about things.Sometimes to the point that all we can see is the here and now-we lose our vision for the future. If you are in such a place,take heart and know that He is God,and God always knows what He’s doing!

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.

Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.   Psalm 46:1,10

As for those two roads; I sense an awesome sermon in the making!

Be blessed,

Ron

