Have you ever felt that way?

I dare say nearly all of us have felt at times like our tank is running on fumes.

Between running errands, taking the kids to one practice after another, getting dinner ready, plus the burden of working to make all of this possible. No wonder we’re tired!!

And if we’re being honest, isn’t some of that self induced? I mean, whatever happened to just saying NO once and a while? Now,there’s a novel concept!

But what about your spiritual life? Have you ever felt so drained that your spiritual get up and go just got up and went?

If so you wouldn’t be the first one to feel that way.Many of us are feeling the pressure from the world to conform to their image of “Christian”. The doctrine of inclusion which says anything is acceptable and everyone is welcome to partake has permeated nearly every facet of the modern church.So much so that there is scarce mention of the word “standard” in the church today.

And the struggle to live according to God’s plan takes it’s toll on us.Many are struggling with this idea that what they’ve been taught all their lives is suddenly of no value. Or as one elderly saint asked me one day” “Ron,what has happened to the church”?

What used to be right is now wrong,or at the very least has been transformed into yet another shade of grey.Absolute truth as found in God’s word has been supplanted by “truth”as defined by a society determined to replace God with one of it’s own design.

Yet lest we think this is a new and strange phenomenon we need only to be reminded of the words of the prophet Jeremiah who said:

30 “An astonishing and horrible thing Has been committed in the land:

31 The prophets prophesy falsely, And the priests rule by their [own] power; And My people love [to have it] so. But what will you do in the end?   Jer 5:30-31 NKJV

Our land is filled to running over with false prophets who speak after the imagination of their own thoughts.How do I know this? If anyone speaks a word that conflicts with the scriptures,that is a false prophet.Listen to what they say-then check your Bible to see if it lines up. Simple.

Pastors,Priests,Teachers,all rule by their own authority,and God’s people love it that way!

Have you ever wondered why that is so? I believe it is because the majority of people in church today do not care to know the truth.They are content to let a person do their reading for them. Content to allow someone else to go to God for them.In other words, too lazy and too indifferent to care.

That’s the Preacher/Priest/Teacher’s job.

And we wonder why our spiritual tank is running on empty?

But thank God we don’t have to be that way!

King David understood the antidote for our dry,empty condition.Read along with me in Psalm 23:

1 [[A Psalm of David.]] The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.     [Psa 23:1-6 KJV

psalm23-lg

I love how this psalm speaks of peace and rest.Everything that a weary traveler needs is contained in these few verses.

If your tank is running on fumes,He will lead you to a place of rest and peace.A place of restoration.

Be blessed,

Ron

