Did you ever “go along” just to “get along”?

I think most of us do that because people generally have an aversion to conflict, and it just makes it easier for everyone if we all just “go along” for the sake of getting along.

I see it in the workplace all the time where someone will have an alternative point of view, but rather than be the lone dissenter in the group they just throw in the towel and go along with the crowd. We’re probably all guilty of that.

I see it in church meetings as well. The pastor or elder will have an idea about something and rather than speak up if there is disagreement, the group will simply just go along to get along.

How boring and utterly depressing that we would be like that! Is that how our Creator made us? I think not.

I remember a verse from the Psalms that addresses this here:

I will praise you, for I am fearfully [and] wonderfully made; Marvelous are your works, and [that] my soul knows very well. Psalms 139:14 NKJV (emphasis mine)

Did you get that? We are wonderfully made in His image! We were not created to simply remain mute while our hearts are stirring within us!

Does that sound like a cookie cutter type of Christian? Or worse yet…the dreaded “Bobblehead” Christian?

You know the type, right? They’re the ones who always just sit there and nod their head in agreement with anything and everything that goes on as if they don’t have an opinion or thought of their own.

preacher bobblehead

Well…..that isn’t me. I have no problem questioning things. Not because I enjoy conflict or somehow get a kick out of watching others squirm. Not at all, for I’ve been on both sides of this many times.

If we never question anything how do we learn? How do we know if there are other options out there that might actually be better than the one being proposed?

I think the Lord wants us to ask the tough questions and yet it’s almost funny how some feel threatened when you don’t “go along” for the sake of “getting along”.

Many, many times in my Christian walk I have questioned the Lord. Haven’t you ever done that? Haven’t you faced tragedy or extreme circumstances that have left you bewildered to the point that you simply want to know “God, where are you”?

In the midst of a season of deep despair I actually took my bible and opened it to Romans 8:28 and began to ask God “how can this verse be true”? I was so desperate for answers that I didn’t know what else to do but ask!

If you don’t remember that verse I’ll include it here:

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to [His] purpose. [Rom 8:28 NKJV

Beloved, when your heart has been ripped out and you feel like giving up on life even though you are actively involved in ministry and believe you’re doing your best to serve God, it can be hard to believe that what you’re going through will somehow work out for your good!

Let’s be honest here can we? Don’t you find that sometimes it’s hard to “go along” with God’s plan, even though you know deep down that He has your best interest at heart?

If I’m being transparent here I must admit that I feel that way at times. I question God about many things, things that I should probably just give up asking about and accept.

But I wasn’t created that way, and neither were so many of you!

I have no doubt that there are questions I have that will never be answered this side of heaven, and somehow I’m OK with that because I know that my Father loves me and is looking out for me.

And you!

Be blessed,

Ron

