Thousands have no doubt read the book “The Power of a Praying Wife” by Stormie Omartian.I cannot say that I am among them,although I have seen the book in my house.I think it was given to my wife some time ago,and I’m not even sure if she has read it!

No matter,for as great as that book may be,I have my own story of the Power of a Praying Wife. A real life story.One that I live every day.

Especially today.

Let me back up just a bit and let you in on what’s been going on in my work life.While most who read my blog know that for the past nearly forty years I have been actively involved in about every facet of ministry there is,I also have a full time secular job with a very large company.

I wear many hats and have a great deal of responsibility,which of course also means I sometimes have a great deal of stress in my life.Like for the past several weeks.

I have been involved in an assignment that has pushed me to the brink on more than a few occasions and the associated stress has affected me in a not so good way.Tired,not pleasant to be around,consumed with a million details.You get the picture I’m sure.

So,what do most men do when faced with the sometimes overwhelming pressures and stress of business?

They push harder of course!

Which gets us what?

More stress of course!

Doesn’t seem to matter if you’re a saint or a sinner,I think men are just wired this way(sorry guys!).

Until you reach the point that you know you can’t do this anymore.

Not this way.

Something has to change.

My work day started at 6:00AM and almost immediately I was faced with a situation that overwhelmed me.And trust me…that doesn’t happen often or easily.

All day it was more of the same,and actually it grew more intense as the day went on.I text-ed my wife that I was downright frustrated,mad,and disgusted with dealing with this situation and that I had had enough.

Enter my praying wife.

Who promptly told me that this was nothing more than an all out attack of the enemy and that I should begin praying right now,because she was praying mightily for the very one who was the source of the stress.

Now I must confess that this was not my first thought.Praying is always good and yes,I am fully aware of the scriptures teachings concerning prayer.After all,I’ve taught others about it for nearly forty years!

So why did I suddenly forget all I knew in the midst of this battle?

Because that’s what the enemy does to us. All of us.He strategically gets our thoughts so consumed with something that we forget that SOMEONE has promised that “greater is He that is in us than he that is in the world”.

The enemy is a joy killer. He is a destroyer of hopes and dreams.  He is a thief who will steal even our very souls from us if he can. What he does mostly however is create situations that consume us to the point of getting our eyes off of Jesus,if even for a little while,so that he can tempt and discourage us.

That’s why I am so thankful,so grateful to be married to a praying wife!

The power of MY praying wife cannot be measured and it is a treasure that I am not worthy of.We have been through so much in our life together and we have come through it all because of her unyielding faith in the Lord.She is a precious gift that for reasons yet unknown was sent into the life of a lonely man one day many years ago.To say that I love her does not do her justice.I need her.I depend upon her.She is my right hand.

She reminded me today of a very powerful truth that bears repeating here:there is no new way.The old way works.Get back to it.She was talking about prayer.

It really does work.

Especially when it comes from my praying wife.

By the end of the day the stress was gone and the meeting I had dreaded for so long went wonderfully.My presentation went well and I breathed a huge sigh of relief.It was as if the entire stress charged atmosphere had been changed.

And it had.

Because when you have a praying wife who is in the midst of the fight with you,and you bring the Lord into the battle as well,victory is assured!

Be blessed,

Ron

