Are you a self made man or woman?

Everything you have is because of your own hard work,abilities,intelligence?

Many people who have no regard for God often think that they alone have provided all the nice things they enjoy.

I know many successful people who claim to be self made and scoff at the notion that perhaps they have been blessed in order to bless others.

I see this mindset in the church as well. I see it in people who have titles and positions,and when it takes hold in the church we start to feel that we can do ministry without the Holy Spirit’s guidance.

But as Christians, we know better don’t we? And we understand the dangers associated with thinking too highly of ourselves.

Jesus spoke the following parable to illustrate the ultimate folly of trusting in anyone but the Lord.

9   And He spoke this parable to certain ones who trusted in themselves, that they were righteous, and despised others:
10 Two men went up into the temple to pray; the one a Pharisee, and the other a tax-collector.
11 The Pharisee stood and prayed within himself in this way: God, I thank You that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even like this tax-collector.
12 I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.
13 And standing afar off, the tax-collector would not even lift up his eyes to Heaven, but struck on his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner!
14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other. For everyone who exalts himself shall be abased, and he who humbles himself shall be exalted.   Luke 18:9-14 NKJV

Humbling ourselves before a Holy God is the first step in acknowledging that there is a power much higher than ourselves.

If we are ever to be of any value to the Lord,we must understand that for this to happen we must decrease so that He can increase.

Our trust cannot be in ourselves,but must be in the God that we serve.

Be blessed,

Ron

