This morning my heart is longing for more of Jesus. It’s not a Sunday thing or a church thing.It’s a personal thing.

It’s a God thing.

I often reflect upon times past when as a new Christian I hungered and longed for God.And through the many seasons of life there have been times when I felt that I would die unless I could somehow run to Jesus and find comfort and love in His waiting arms.Kind of like this:

1 To the Chief Musician. A Contemplation of the sons of Korah. As the deer pants for the water brooks, So pants my soul for You, O God.   [Psa 42:1 NKJV]

I love this illustration of a thirsty,tired deer desperately needing a refreshing drink of water because it reminds me of myself.

I’m sure you’ve been there.Worn out from the struggle of life.Sick in body.Frustrated that life has not turned out the way you had hoped.Depressed,divorced,bankrupt,and a million other issues that seemingly suck the life out of you.

When all of a sudden you begin to sense it.Those times when you felt something much greater than yourself,pulling you,drawing you to something you’re not quite sure of.

Only to discover the warm embrace of the Father is drawing you to Himself, as only a Father can.To embrace the child that is part of himself in order to lovingly whisper to us “I’m here for you.I haven’t forgotten you.Cast all of your cares upon me for I care for you”.

God does that to us at times doesn’t he? What I’ve learned over the past many years is that the strength of this pull is in direct proportion to our prayer life.Let me explain.

The more I call upon the Lord,the more He seems to draw me closer to Him.When I neglect my prayer life the more aware I become of a distance between us.And a coldness begins to envelop my soul.A coldness that encompasses every facet of my being.

Guess which one I prefer?

I leave you this morning with the words from an old song(1980)from B.J.Thomas.I have no idea who the writer is,except that whoever it is they wrote a song about my life.And,I suspect…yours as well.

If you’re interested you can find this on Youtube here:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=froyEJ0bAlI

More of You

More of you,Lord that’s the way it’s got to be, More of you, till there’s no room left in me

All those wasted hours and minutes, There yours now from the start to the finish

I need more of you, in me

More of you, fill me with nothing less, More of you, give me your love and the world can have the rest

I could never get enough, Of you grace,your peace,your warmth and your love

Give me more of you dear Lord

There was a time in my life,when I thought I had it all, But all I really had was an aching,empty soul

And I need more of you,dear Savior,more,more of you

More of you,precious Jesus,give me your love,and the world can have the rest

I know I’ll never get quite enough,of you grace,your peace,your warmth and your love

I need more of you,I need more of you,I need more of you…In me

Be blessed,

Ron

