Well, Thanksgiving has come and gone for another year.I hope everyone paused a few moments to reflect upon the blessings we’ve been given.I’m thankful every day (not just one day) for a roof over my head,a warm house,plenty to eat,and a good job to go to every day.

I am very much aware that compared to the majority of this world I am rich beyond measure.I also believe that if you live in America, you most likely share in these riches at some level.We are truly blessed.

To have the unparallelled freedom to worship God and to have a Bible in my home are treasures I do not take for granted.These things are gifts from God and God alone, and I am both humbled and thankful.

Which brings me to the second thought of this post,which is our tendency to be less than thankful,even greedy at times.

Have you noticed?

We turn “thankfulness” on and off like we do our TV’s. We go from heads bowed around the family Thanksgiving table to within a few short hours joining the mad rush to the mall.Only this year it’s been made even easier so we can start earlier than ever before.After all, no sense wasting precious shopping time setting around with the family when there are bargains to be had.

I wonder if we can see what has happened to us in America? Do we comprehend the breakdown?

We bemoan what has happened to the family unit in this country but in truth we contribute to it by our own greed.Think about that for a moment.

We will get up hours earlier than normal to stand in a line in the freezing cold to get that perfect gift,but we won’t spend a few extra minutes in the company of our loved ones getting to know what’s going on in their lives.

Now,lest you think I don’t like saving money,rest assured that I most certainly do like saving money. But at what cost? I hear people all the time speaking about their busy schedules and how there doesn’t seem to be time for the things that matter,yet these same people are the ones clamoring to be first in line when the doors open!

I guess I’m getting old because “things” don’t excite me much any more.I place a higher value on things that cannot be bought in the stores.Things like quiet evenings at home surrounded by loved ones.There is a blessedness in that like nothing else.

I love listening to my daughter laugh out loud,the sound of which brings an enormous smile to my face each time.I love talking with her,listening to her opinions about things that I didn’t even know she understood! I am so very thankful for the times I have with her.

I love the home my wife has created because it is an atmosphere of peace and love.Try buying that at Macy’s!

I’m thankful that I am married to a woman who understands me and let’s me be me,as I do her.There is no price to place on a home where the love and peace of God dwells.

I am beyond blessed,and for that I am so thankful.

In spite of the ills of the church,it’s failures(that’s us folks),it’s many shortcomings…..I have a sure Foundation in Christ Jesus.He will never leave me nor forsake me.

Can’t buy that at any price.Sorry,that price was already paid.

And for all of these things I am thankful….. and I endeavor to remain so.

Be blessed,

Ron

