Like many of you,I often question many of the things taking place in the world today.

I mean, how could you not question the rampaging violence in our society,or the staggering numbers of starving and diseased people all over the earth? If we have a conscious at all, and certainly if we have the Spirit of God dwelling within us we must surely be aware that something has gone terribly wrong.

Yet on the other hand,I know people who believe that everything is great and that God is pouring out blessing after blessing upon this world.

I suppose if one wanted to one could say it’s all a matter of perspective.You know; the old half full vs.half empty thing.

Maybe it’s just me but being nearly 60 years old I believe I have lived too long and learned too much to bury my head in the sand and act as though everything is just as good now as it’s always been.

If I am to believe the Bible(and I certainly do)I must believe it all.I am not afforded the luxury to pick and choose the “nice” verses that are soothing to the soul and neglect the harsh warnings of trouble on the horizon.One look at the words of Jesus in Matthew 24 should give us a clear indication of what I’m referring to.

3 Now as He sat on the Mount of Olives, the disciples came to Him privately, saying, “Tell us, when will these things be? And what will be the sign of Your coming, and of the end of the age?”

4 And Jesus answered and said to them: “Take heed that no one deceives you.

5 For many will come in My name, saying, ‘I am the Christ,’ and will deceive many.

6 And you will hear of wars and rumors of wars. See that you are not troubled; for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet.

7 For nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. And there will be famines, pestilences, and earthquakes in various places.

8 All these are the beginning of sorrows.

The disciples had two questions to ask of Jesus,and if you think about those questions you realize that they aren’t much different than the one’s we are asking today.

In this short discourse Jesus gives a very clear picture of the conditions that will exist as the time of His appearing draws near.

In these six verses there is one warning that stands above the others.It is found in verse four when our Lord says to take heed,or be very careful,that no one deceives you.Why do you suppose He said that?

I believe it is because there is a spirit of deception in the world today.Think about this for a few moments.

Things that we have always been taught were true are being challenged on every hand.The cry of the world is that there can be no truth,therefore everything is permissible.

If I may be so plain as to say that the church today has become a purveyor of deception not unlike the world itself.

Which is why Jesus said that many would come in His name saying they are Christ,or of Christ,and deceive many.

Hardly a day goes by when we aren’t exposed to some new doctrine or belief system.What passes for Christian TV is hardly discernible from every other self help diatribe emanating from the world.

All of which begs the question: doesn’t anyone read their Bible anymore? Doesn’t anyone compare what they’ve heard with what was written?

Yes,we are living in the day of deception and many are falling away from their faith because of it.

Remember these words of Jesus:”in the world you shall have trouble,but be of good cheer for I have overcome the world.”

Even in a world filled with lies and deception, we can overcome it all because He has already overcome for us!

Be blessed

Ron

