Sunday morning….

People have come to the one place they’ve been led to believe is a respite from the weariness and pain.

The shadow of the steeple.

Our churches are filled with hurting,lonely people.

Desperate people.

People who sit through a few announcements.

Disengaged people…

A few songs.

A brief sermon that neither pricks the heart nor eases the burden.

A dismissal prayer.

People who leave the same way they came.

People who are hurting and lonely.

People who leave the shadow of the steeple wondering why no one sees the pain and hurt.

Or wondering if they do see…but do not care enough to be Jesus to them in their time of need.

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”
Mt 11:28-30

Ron

