This weeks news of yet another outbreak of war(hard to call rockets being launched a “skirmish”) between Israel and the Palestinians draws my thoughts back to a passage in Matthew 24 where Jesus was speaking about the days in which we live.

3 Now as He sat on the Mount of Olives, the disciples came to Him privately, saying, “Tell us, when will these things be? And what will be the sign of Your coming, and of the end of the age?”
4 And Jesus answered and said to them: “Take heed that no one deceives you.
5 For many will come in My name, saying, ‘I am the Christ,’ and will deceive many.
6 And you will hear of wars and rumors of wars. See that you are not troubled; for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet.
7 For nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. And there will be famines, pestilences, and earthquakes in various places.
8 All these are the beginning of sorrows.

So serious is this latest conflict that United Nations secretary general, Ban Ki-moon, called urgently for a return to calm and a cease-fire.
“Today, we face the risk of an all-out escalation in Israel and Gaza, with the threat of a ground offensive still palpable — and preventable only if Hamas stops rocket firing,” he told an emergency meeting of the Security Council.

Meanwhile, our own President is offering the help of our government in brokering yet one more cease fire. One more cease fire that not only will not last, but is doomed to ultimate failure.

I wonder: in whom do we trust? In whom do we have our hope? As a Christian I know what the Bible plainly declares, and that is that there can be no peace until the Prince of Peace comes again to reign and rule upon this earth for a thousand years.

I like to believe that I have my eyes wide open to what is taking place in the world and I consider myself to be a realist in the sense that I know perfectly well what is coming. What our Lord said would happen MUST happen, it cannot be otherwise.No amount of deal making or promise giving will put an end to this centuries old battle for control of the Middle East.

All of us wish for peace. We all want everyone to just get along. No one likes seeing the pictures of death and mayhem on the evening news.Yet take note that Jesus said that these were the beginning of sorrows.

Yet in spite of it all, I still have a hope that at an appointed time all of this will end,once and for all.Or as so many have already stated: I’ve read the back of the book and I know who wins!
There’s only One reason I have this hope….

He’s Still In Control

Be blessed,

Ron

