I’m tired.Very tired.

I’m tired of church done the way church is always done.Church that is predictable and boring,altogether unlike the King we serve.

Emotionless church.Dry,dead,going through the motions because this is what we do,lifeless church.

You know…church that is so structured and programmed that if the Holy Spirit didn’t show up for a month no one would even notice.

I’m tired of church cliques.You know the ones I’m referring to.The little groups who only speak to members of their own group or at best give a cursory acknowledgement that you actually do exist. I’m weary of the hypocrisy of it all.

I’m put off by people in church leadership positions who are not leaders but followers at best.I’m frankly disgusted by people who assume titles of authority or go through the procedures to get the framed diploma to hang on the wall,yet will not lift a finger to help someone in need or worse yet have enough of the love of Christ within them to offer up a simple word of encouragement to one who is struggling.

I miss the early years of ministry when I didn’t know any better than to simply trust God to do what His word said He would do.Back before I ever figured out that God’s church was divided into hundreds of groups all vying to be known as the “One True Church”,and all failing miserably.I miss the simplicity of following Christ and loving people.I miss the spirit of expectancy that came from not knowing what the Lord had in store during a particular service. 

But mostly what I miss is intimacy with the Lord.

I may not be able to do a thing about everything else,but intimacy with God is something I have control over, and I sense Him calling me to draw closer.

Does anyone else feel this way?

Be blessed,

Ron

 

 

