In my work I am often in the company of people from diverse backgrounds and cultures.At any given time I can hear conversations in English,Japanese,Indian,and a few others that I am unfamiliar with.Being raised in a very small Midwestern town it was quite a cultural shock to be suddenly thrust into an environment that was so different than what I had ever been exposed to.

That initial exposure was 25 years ago and in that time I have learned a lot about various cultures and traditions.One of the most important things I have learned is that none of us is really all that different from anyone else.We all have the same basic needs for food and shelter.We all want to provide for those who depend upon us.And we all have a need to be loved.

I am often in situations where people speak to me about the problems they are facing in life;divorce,abuse,betrayal,loneliness,abandonment,etc…and what always comes through the hurt and anguish is this need to be loved,to be accepted.And that’s where God comes in my friends.

The best of us doing the best we can on our very best day will never be able to accomplish what God can accomplish through the ministering work of the Holy Spirit in the lives of His children.Take a look at what Asaph said when he found himself wondering about the conditions around him.He questioned why the wicked prospered so greatly.He wondered at the wickedness of the world around him and why the righteous seemed to suffer more than those who rejected God.After considering all these things he summed it up in the following verses:

Psalm 73:25-28 (NKJV)
25 Whom have I in heaven but You? And there is none upon earth that I desire besides You.
26 My flesh and my heart fail; But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.
27 For indeed, those who are far from You shall perish; You have destroyed all those who desert You for harlotry.
28 But it is good for me to draw near to God; I have put my trust in the Lord God, That I may declare all Your works.

Maybe you have wondered why life has thrown you more than its share of curve balls. Perhaps you too have questioned the logic of why some who aren’t even trying to live for the Lord  seem to have it so easy, and yet others who have been faithful for so many years seem to catch all the bad breaks.You’ve probably asked the Lord “when is it my turn”?

May I let you in on a great theological secret? We’re all just like you.We’ve all been there.We’ve all had to patiently endure one endless season of heartache after another.And still we soldier on.From one corner of this planet to the other God’s people soldier on for we know that ahead remains the ultimate prize.

I have learned through much hardship and disappointment that there is but One who is faithful.”Whom have I in heaven but you”?

I have it all in Christ.

Be blessed,

Ron

 

 

