Ministry. Mention the word and immediately the mind starts thinking of so many things;

  • Mercy
  • Compassion
  • Love
  • People
  • Hunger
  • Sickness
  • Jesus

The Bible is very clear about ministry.It’s an act of love between two people,it’s about meeting the basic needs of life.It’s about healing and restoring the whole man,body and soul.Real ministry happens as a result of a relationship with Jesus Christ.

Real ministry is not;

  • Greed
  • Power
  • Money
  • Self Righteousness

From where I set on the front row I see ministry at it’s best.I see people loving people,needs being met.Hearts are mended,lives restored,families who actually love one another.

I also see the hurting turned away.I see the lonely,desperate to feel loved yet walking out of the house of God as empty as when they came in.I see the sick who have no hope looking for someone,anyone to extend a hand of compassion yet no hands are extended.

Real ministry isn’t hard.In fact,when our hearts are filled with His love the easiest thing to do is extend that love to another.

God is love and God is the driver behind real ministry.The words of Jesus explain it in ways I could only hope to…

Matthew 25:31-40 (NKJV)
31 “When the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the holy angels with Him, then He will sit on the throne of His glory.
32 All the nations will be gathered before Him, and He will separate them one from another, as a shepherd divides his sheep from the goats.
33 And He will set the sheep on His right hand, but the goats on the left.
34 Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:
35 for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in;
36 I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’
37 “Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink?
38 When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You?
39 Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’
40 And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’

Lord help us to desire to extend your hands of mercy and compassion to those who have none.

Be blessed,

Ron

 

 

 

