The other day I was waiting to board a flight, and as the boarding time drew closer and closer the area began to take on the look of a school field trip with so many kids headed for spring break. Curiously, I noticed a lot of smaller children as well but quickly realized from the conversations all around me that they were headed to the home of Mickey Mouse. Now normally when I see that many children on a flight I get a bit apprehensive because we all know how short the attention span of children can be.

So we were soon soaring off into the wild blue yonder and I couldn’t help hearing the little girl in the seat directly behind me squealing with delight about seeing the clouds. “Look Mommy, see the clouds” she exclaimed over and over. Between the shrieks and the giggles she was having a great time. Then she said something that I hope I never forget. For she asked “but where’s heaven?”

Suddenly, all the noise in the plane from the dozens of other children was suddenly swallowed up in the simple,innocent question: “but where’s heaven?” All I could hear was that question, and my own heart was pierced for I suddenly came face to face with my own version of the little girl’s question.

With the stress of work and a hundred other responsibilities,had I forgotten what the ultimate prize is? Can we become so consumed with life that we lose sight of the big picture? I routinely hear parents lamenting the fact that they run from one event to another several nights a week so that their kids can be involved in various activities.We bring work home at night when our focus should be on our families.Do you and I ever stop to ask….. how much is too much?

I remember the admonition of the Apostle Paul to Timothy about becoming so wrapped up in the affairs of this life. 

No one engaged in warfare entangles himself with the affairs of this life, that he may please him who enlisted him as a soldier.”      2nd Tim. 2:4 NKJV

Make no mistake about it, we are in a war with the enemy of our souls.The battle is engaged and it is a battle for supremacy of the soul. It is a battle for your time.Jesus said that “the thief comes not but for to steal, kill,and to destroy“, yet in the midst of this battle we must never lose sight of the fact that as Christians we are first and foremost soldiers of the cross.And heaven is our future home.

I want to be like the little girl who asked “but where’s heaven”? Shouldn’t we all be looking for a new heaven and a new earth as described by John in Revelation 21:1? 

Be blessed,

Ron

