Salvation. Isn’t that our end goal, to spend eternity with the Lord and all the saints who have gone before us? Well of course it is you say, why on earth do you think I call myself a Christian if I didn’t believe that there is a heavenly home awaiting me?

I have observed something very odd, or curious, in the church today. Something that has probably always been there yet I hadn’t thought much about it until lately. It’s the phenomenon of salvation without repentance. Think about this for a few moments. There are a great number of well intentioned folks out there knocking on doors, greeting people on the sidewalk, grocery store, and yes the church, whose purpose is to win sinners to the kingdom of God. That is awesome my friend.

It goes something like this: “Hi there. My name is Ron and I’d like to ask you a question. Are you a sinner? You are? Well, did you know that Jesus died on the cross for your sins? You do? Great, now will you receive Him into your heart as Lord and Savior? You will? Fantastic! You are saved! You are a Christian! The word of God declares that you are saved!

Of course this is a very simplified account and I use it here to prove a point. Do you see anything missing from the above encounter? Was there any mention of repentance? Where is the work of the Holy Spirit in my little evangelistic outreach? Do you suppose that one reason why we see so many start out for Christ but fade away is because there has never been a repentant heart?

What I’m trying to say is this: except the Lord draw us how can we be saved? It is one thing to say that I am a sinner, it is quite another thing to experience the convicting power of the Holy Spirit. The result of all this is that we have people believing something (without knowing what they believe). They have never experienced the miraculous work of the Holy Spirit in regeneration.

That’s the missing piece of the puzzle. That’s what I’ve been observing.

How about you?

Ron

 

