Jesus Will Keep Us

Another cold, cloudy and rainy Saturday in March. Like millions of others who have endured this very long winter, I am so ready for the warmth of spring. Thankfully nearly all of the snow is gone from the yard and the ice on the pond is mostly slush. The geese are making more noise as they begin their annual scrimmage for the rights to the pond out back. Surely the arrival of spring cannot be far off!

Tomorrow is my Mother in law’s birthday and we are going to church with her in the morning and then lunch after that. This will be her first birthday since her husband of 56 years passed last June so it will be quite emotional for all of us. I intend to publish a tribute to my Father in law one day so anyone who reads this blog will know that there truly are real men of God among us.

I’ve been reading John’s gospel this week and have been stuck on the 17th chapter for several days now, in particular the 12th verse which reads as follows:

“While I was with them in the world,I kept them in Your name. Those whom You gave Me I have kept; and none of them is lost except the son of perdition,that the Scripture might be fulfilled.”

What an astounding statement… “I kept them in Your name”. More to the point, this promise has also been given to us. I am fully persuaded that if Jesus could keep the eleven, He can keep you and I through every storm we go through. We never have to fear being left alone because He has promised that He will never leave us nor forsake us, but will go with us even to the end of the world.

Be comforted in knowing this…

Ron

 

I’d like to hear your thoughts.